Committees & Meetings

Council Meetings


The Council meets monthly (except in the month of August) usually on the second Monday of the month.

The meetings are now held in the Peggy Killick Suite, Nantwich Civic Hall, Market Street, Nantwich,

CW5 5DG starting at 7.00 p.m.

Meetings are open to members of the public except during the consideration of confidential items; the reasons for which are as prescribed in the Public Bodies (Admission to Meetings) Act 1960.

Dates – Council & Committee meetings 2018



To undertake its work the Council has a number of committees reporting to the full Council.

Town Council – Chair, Councillor David Marren, – Mayor

Policy – Chair, Councillor Peter Groves

Finance – Chair, Councillor Pam Kirkham

Staffing – Chair, Councillor Arthur Moran

The Mayor of the Council sits ex-officio on all Panels and Committees.

Policy Committee

Membership: Councillors Bowyer-Bates, Butterill, Groves (Chair), Lewis, Martin and Moran.

Terms of Reference:

Review the effective operation of the Council, its policies and procedures.

Annual Risk Assessment of Council services, business and assets.
Consideration of planning applications and to make observations on behalf of the Council

Finance Committee

Membership: Councillors Bartram, Bostock, Bowyer-Bates, Hall, Kirkham (Chair), Lewis and Moran

Terms of Reference:

Budget proposals and precept recommendation

Financing of future projects

Financial Regulations, including regulations relating to contracts Insurance and Indemnities Banking and investment policies and practice Arrangements for receipts and payments, including signing and authorisation of cheques Audit Fees, charges and rents payable both to and by the Council Salaries and other remuneration and similar payments (e.g., pensions)

Staffing Committee

Membership: Councillors Butterill, Moran, Bartram, Hall and Kirkham.